RSS

My Journey through Journalism

24 Jan
My Journey through Journalism

Pic from Google

Journalism,Journalism,Journalism.I do not think I will ever have enough of it.My journey through this field has not been long I just graduated the other day but I am hoping to have many experiences through it smoothly.

I would say this call came to me way back in primary school where I realized I have a special liking for the art subjects whereas my cohorts loved other very different subjects.(Math).In particularly I loved languages(English).I was brought up in the village (Ngemwa) something special for me to be communicating very eloquently.

I read story books one after another and when i was of age (Class four),l was taken to boarding school(Kikuyu,Nairobi).The school had good library facilities therefore I took the advantage and read and borrowed books at the same time.Somewhere along the way something tragic happened in my life and i had to transfer schools.There was no library.Nwe I survived and for my KCPE exams I performed really well in the languages.

High School.I joined Journalism club.Wow!!! The experience was phenomenal,I was now where I wanted to be,of course in form one (mono) there was no much exposure as the privilege was with form fours who did all the trips to cover stories.My turn came and I went to the field to collect news articles.An amazing experience.This is when I discovered that Journalism is the line I want to pursue.It was fun going out to source for news(sports news) and the best part of it,reporting them out to the whole school(during assembly).I got the courage and oomph to purse my dream.

That stage molded me.The next perfected my vision.University (Among the many along Thika Rd,Nairobi).At this stage I had started admiring the svelte ladies on Tv anchoring news.I wanted to be like them (I wish i knew) I studied Journalism Majoring in Broadcast media and taking a minor in Public Relations (I love the sound of the name).

The sailing was smooth no setbacks whatsoever.Thanks to my lecturers for their continued support.Guys i owe you one or three.Thanks to Sir Joe Kadhi,Isaiah Cherutich,James Oranga,James Mutua ,Ruth Mwikahi and finally to one woman I really admired Robi Koki Ochieng.She made PR look so easy and fun. From then on i felt that I what I really wanted to pursue communications.Thanks to the Almighty God I graduated.First experience,Video Editor at Royal Media Services (Citizen Tv).Simply nice.My boss the best ever. Kudos Shelo!!! Four months I was out searching (You know what)

God was listening to me another organization (thats for a later date) came to my rescue(I got a position).The journey is still at that place hoping that one day I will have the chance to talk more about this travel as for now it is a big thanks to my Line Manager, Lucy for her patience and support.

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 24, 2012 in Journalism

 

8 responses to “My Journey through Journalism

  1. Anonymous

    January 24, 2012 at 7:20 am

    A story… For KCPE,,, ….hahahaaaa.

     
  2. Girl from the Block

    January 24, 2012 at 7:24 am

    Hahahaha please leave me your name

     
  3. Anonymous

    January 24, 2012 at 9:41 am

    hey nice article cuz u go do great things in this life
    bryan

     
  4. julie

    January 24, 2012 at 1:26 pm

    nice story my dear…… musa had a lib

     
  5. Anonymous

    January 24, 2012 at 6:44 pm

    Doing what you love…surounded with all the support… Me penda…
    Sky is the limit

     
    • Girl from the Block

      January 25, 2012 at 5:23 am

      Thanks.please leave your details am having an issue with my settings

       

Enjoy the Article!!! Feel free to comment

 
